Annual General Meeting (AGM)


Annual General Meeting 2014

Zurich, April 2, 2014 - The General Meeting of Zurich Insurance Group Ltd (Zurich) today approved an unchanged dividend of CHF 17.00 per registered share, resulting in a payout ratio of net income of 69%. As this year's dividend payment will again be paid from the capital contribution reserves, it will be exempt from Swiss withholding tax. The dividend will be paid starting April 9, 2014.

Further, Zurich proposed amendments to the Articles of Incorporation to the General Meeting, which are related to the Minder Initiative and implement the terms of the Ordinance against Excessive Remuneration in listed Stock Corporations (ECO). The shareholders approved the respective amendments of the Articles of Incorporation with 90.44%. Pursuant to the new Articles of Incorporation the General Meeting will pre-approve the remuneration of the Board of Directors and the Group Executive Committee as of 2015. Additionally, the remuneration report, which among other things will contain the actual remuneration paid, will be submitted to the shareholders for an advisory vote. The amended Articles of Incorporation also include provisions concerning the number of permissible activities members of the Board of Directors or Group Executive Committee may assume.

The shareholders newly elected Christoph Franz to the Board of Directors with 99.06%. They also re-elected Tom de Swaan as Chairman for a further term of office of one year. According to the ECO, the General Meeting elects the Chairman directly. All other members of the Board of Directors were also re-elected for a further term of office of one year, as required by the ECO. As previously announced, Victor L.L. Chu and Rolf Watter retire from the Board of Directors. In its constituent meeting held after the General Meeting the Board of Directors re-elected Fred Kindle as Vice-Chairman.


Important dates



You will need Adobe Reader to view the downloaded files
get Acrobat Reader


Name Language Size/Format
Voting results of the Ordinary General Meeting 2014 en/de 342KB/pdf
News release of 2 April, 2014 en 261KB/pdf
Speeches Tom de Swaan en 104KB/pdf
Martin Senn en 117KB/pdf
News release of 7 March, 2014 en 109KB/pdf
Annual report 2013 Online version en     4.2MB/pdf
Annual review 2013 Online version en     3.6MB/pdf
Invitation Annual General Meeting 2014   en     633KB/pdf
Report of the revision of the articles of incorporation 2014   en     116KB/pdf
Articles of incorporation 2014   en     116KB/pdf
News release of 6 March, 2014 en 109KB/pdf
Biographies Martin Senn, Chief Executive Officer en
Tom de Swaan, Chairman en
Fred Kindle, , Vice-Chairman en
Susan Bies, member of the Board of Directors en
Dame Alison Carnwath, member of the Board of Directors en
Christoph Franz, proposed for election
Rafael del Pino, member of the Board of Directors en
Thomas Escher, member of the Board of Directors en
Monica Mächler, member of the Board of Directors en
Don Nicolaisen, member of the Board of Directors en
News release of 13 February,2014 en de 261KB/pdf
Letter to shareholders en de fr 285 KB/pdf
Multimedia material Video material (broadcast and streaming standard) and high resolution photos are available in our "Multimedia Pressroom"