Kishore Mahbubani

Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats

Nationalität: Singapur
Jahrgang: 1948

Fähigkeiten und Erfahrung

Kishore Mahbubani begann seine Karriere 1971 als Diplomat beim Aussenministerium in Singapur. Dort war er bis 2004 tätig und wurde in dieser Zeit nach Kambodscha, Malaysia, Washington D.C. und New York entsandt. Er repräsentierte Singapur im Januar 2001 und im Mai 2002 als Botschafter in den Vereinten Nationen und als Präsident des UNO Sicherheitsrats. Von 1993 bis 1998 war Herr Mahbubani Staatssekretär im Aussenministerium von Singapur. Als Gründungsmitglied und erster Dekan war Herr Mahbubani von 2004 bis Ende 2017 an der Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy der National University of Singapore (NUS) tätig. Seit Juli 2019 ist er Distinguished Fellow am Asia Research Institute (ARI) der NUS. Er tritt öffentlich auf und publiziert zu geopolitischen und wirtschaftlichen Themen. Die Financial Times hat sein Buch, «The Great Convergence: Asia, the West, and the Logic of One World», zu einem der besten Wirtschaftsbücher des Jahres 2013 gewählt. Sein neustes Buch «Has the West Lost it?» wurde im April 2018 in London veröffentlicht und von Martin Wolf als «a compelling warning» beschrieben. Seit April 2015 ist er Mitglied der Verwaltungsräte der Zurich Insurance Group AG und der Zürich Versicherungs-Gesellschaft AG.

Mitgliedschaft in Ausschüssen

Vergütungsausschuss, Risiko- und Investmentausschuss

Sonstige Mandate innerhalb der Gruppe

Zürich Versicherungs-Gesellschaft AG

Externe Ernennungen

Im September 2017 wurde er zum Verwaltungsratspräsidenten von Aggregate Asset Management gewählt. Seit Januar 2016 ist er ein unabhängiges Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats von Wilmar International Limited, Singapur. Zudem nahm er Einsitz in den Verwaltungsräten und Beiräten verschiedener Institutionen in Singapur, Europa und Nordamerika. Momentan ist er Mitglied des Yale President’s Council on International Activities (PCIA), des Global Agenda Council on China des World Economic Forums und des Singapore Social Science Research Council.

Ausbildung

Herr Mahbubani schloss sein Studium der Philosophie an der University of Singapore mit Auszeichnung ab. Weiter erwarb er einen Master of Arts in Philosophie der Dalhousie University, Kanada, die ihm ausserdem die Ehrendoktorwürde verlieh.

Downloads

CV Kishore Mahbubani, Deutsch

Kishore Mahbubani - JPG (2500 x 1250 px)

X

Kishore Mahbubani

Member of the Board of Directors

Nationality: Singapore
Born: 1948

Download CV

Skills and experience

Kishore Mahbubani began his career in 1971 as a diplomat with the Singapore Foreign Service, in which he served until 2004, with postings in Cambodia, Malaysia, Washington D.C. and New York. He served two postings as Singapore’s ambassador to the UN and as President of the UN Security Council in January 2001 and May 2002. Mr. Mahbubani was permanent secretary of the Singapore Foreign Ministry from 1993 to 1998. He served as Founding Dean at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy of the National University of Singapore (NUS) from 2004 until the end of 2017. In July 2019 he became a Distinguished Fellow at the Asia Research Institute (ARI) of NUS. He has spoken and published extensively on geopolitical and economic issues. In 2013 the Financial Times chose one of his books, ‘The Great Convergence: Asia, the West and the Logic of One World,’ as one of the best books about economics in that year. His latest book, ‘Has the West Lost It?,’ published in London in April 2018, was described by Martin Wolf as “a compelling warning.” He has been a member of the Boards of Zurich Insurance Group Ltd and of Zurich Insurance Company Ltd since April 2015.

Committee membership

Remuneration Committee, Risk and Investment Committee

Other directorships within the Group

Zurich Insurance Company Ltd

External appointments

In September 2017 he was appointed non-executive chairman of the board of Aggregate Asset Management. Since January 2016 he has also been an independent director of the board of Wilmar International Limited, Singapore. In addition, he has served on boards and councils of several institutions in Singapore, Europe and North America, and is currently a member of Yale’s President’s Council on International Activities (PCIA), the World Economic Forum’s Global Agenda Council on China and the Singapore Social Science Research Council.

Educational background

Mr. Mahbubani graduated with a first-class honors degree in philosophy from the University of Singapore and an M.A. in philosophy from Dalhousie University, Canada, where he was also awarded an honorary doctorate.

Downloads

CV Kishore Mahbubani, English

Kishore Mahbubani - JPG (2500 x 1250 px)

X

Privacy and Cookies

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.

Read our privacy policy
Confirm